My summer reading list

Book Review

It’s SUMMERTIME! Which means it’s time for intriguing new reads to hit the shelves.

Since I’ve had to wait out this pregnancy at home instead of working like originally planned, I look forward to hitting up the local bookstore to see what’s coming out next.

I don’t know about you, but I am a MAJOR reader. And the only place I can get some peace and quiet to read a good chunk is my alone time in the bath tub (PLEASE tell me I’m not alone here). There’s nothing better than a quiet evening with some hot water, bubbles and good book waiting to be finished, am I right?

So these are the new reads I plan to purchase over the next couple of weeks to waste time before this little bundle arrives. (I wonder if she’s going to grow up loving books as much as I do..) If you’ve read these already, I would LOVE some feedback on how you enjoyed them. And if you didn’t like one, let me know that, too! I’ll be posting some of my personal reviews after I get finished reading them.

IMG_5111  The One & Only by Emily Giffin- I’ve actually just finished this one, but I included it anyways. It was a good read. One that kept me from putting it down. I seriously sat for HOURS reading this. It was a different read, in terms of content, but I enjoyed it very much. And you might too, if you’re a woman that also loves a good bit of sports talk 😉

'Me_Before_You'  Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – I’ve read this one,too, but I had to put it in because I desperately NEED the sequel and every single one after it. After You is the second book in her series, and it has taken off by storm! I have no complaints about this book. If you’re into love stories, this is definitely a read for you.

51LOMFLbcvL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_  The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney – The first one I plan to buy to finish off my summer reading list. The reviews make it sound like it’s a lighthearted and quirky read, and quirky is my thing!

ten-best-suspense-novels-06_120545393799  The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh – CRAVE a great suspense book. Nothing gruesome, but the more suspense, the BETTER. This beauty seems to have every bit of suspense spilling over the pages.

ten-best-suspense-novels-08_120547348923  What I Had Before I Had You by Sarah Cornwell – I know you can’t judge a book by it’s cover, but come one. Isn’t this one of the prettiest covers you’ve ever seen? This book is a “Psychological page-turner” according Vogue’s website, and it definitely strokes my psychology-loving core. Growing up with family that have a history of bi-polar disorder, it intrigues me to read inside the mind of a suffering child.

So that’s not my ENTIRE list, but I think that should fill up some of my extra time. Can’t spend ALL day lounging around reading… (Insert frowny face)

So whatcha think? Are you going to give any of these reads a try? If you do, let me know how you like them!

 

 

Leave a comment